Why infect Computers?

Why infect Computers?

This weekend I made a small experiment: I set up a small Karmetasploit box, and let it run for 48 hours. I assure you that I  formatted the box, thus removing all logged and collected data, after a quick look. I just wanted to see how such a setup would do in a “urban” environment. Well, looking at the results I got, i decided that infecting a computer with some sort of malaware is the dumbest thing to do if you want to have access to it: of 317 collected “personas”, only 3 didn’t have the same password for all places. Only 5 had a password that where not name, birthdate or a combination of both. A small script that scanned the conencted computers has shown that most of them (i think 280 or something like that) used a “unpatched” version of windows, that means, no update installed since january. Most of them had Windows xp with sp2, some even sp1. 20 even responded to sub7, what drove me crazy: there are still people using it? Woooowww…

The best surprise I got was the browsers listing: 23 Chrome / Chromium, 21 Safari, 17 Opera, 54 Internet Exploder and the rest all Firefox (ok, some had really ancient versions… 1.4 anyone?). From a security perspective that’s not that intersting, but from a web design perspective this confirms my suspicion that Firefox has a wide penetration in home users, just corporate computers didn’t get the memo.

Summing up: don’t infect Computer, just connect to them, it’s easy. The security problem is between keyboard and chair.